Angling Lake,
Ontario P0V 1B0
(807) 537-2315 phone
(807) 537-2336 fax


The sun coming up in the horizon at dawn, the river flowing ever so gently, the trees standing tall and grass from Mother Earth. Once can hear the words of the Treaty Commissioner promising that the Queen will forever take care of here children. "As long as the sun shines, as long as the river flows and as long as the grass grows." These words ring out as the ancestors of Wapekeka people gather to sign the Treaty No. 9.

The two standing trees are symbolic of the two reserves that make up Wapekeka First Nation. The river and the lake are the life line for the very existence of the Wapekeka people. The land on both sides of the river is the traditional land that is used for the survival of the people.

The sun is the most important symbol, as it is a reminder of the relationship between the people and the Creator. The lines from the sun stretches out to the four direction, which represent the North, East, West and South. It is also a life giving force
.



Staff

Norman Brown
Chief of Wapekeka First Nation

Donald Brown
Deputy Chief

Elsie Brown
Band Councillor

Henry Roundsky
Band Councillor

Jennifer Mamakwa
Band Councillor

Brennan Sainnawap
Executive Officer
brennans@wapekeka.ca

Clara Winnepetonga
Office/Project Management Assistant
claraw@wapekeka.ca

Carol Brown
Band Administrator
carolb@wapekeka.ca

Priscilla Brown
Assistant Administrator
priscillab@wapekeka.ca

Cynthia Sainnawap
Band Membership Clerk
cynthias@wapekeka.ca

Donald Brown
Housing Coordinator
donaldb@wapekeka.ca

Jim Hudson
Community Liaison Office
jimh@wapekeka.ca

Romaine Wesley
Sioux Lookout Office Receptionist
romainew@wapekeka.ca

James Brown
Education Director
jamesb@wapekeka.ca

Dennis Brown
dennisb@wapekeka.ca

Judy Sainnawap
judys@wapekeka.ca

Wapekeka Education Authority
education@wapekeka.ca

Zacharias Tait
Health Director
zachariast@wapekeka.ca

Wapekeka Health Authority
health@wapekeka.ca

General Mailbox
Wapekeka First Nation
wfn@wapekeka.ca

Shibogama First Nations Council
www.shibogama.on.ca